Soccer quicks

FIFA draw to decide order of World Cup qualifiers

FIFA will hold a draw to determine the order of matches in two 2010 World Cup qualifying groups after the teams involved failed to reach agreement by the January 16 deadline.

The draw will involve European qualifying Group Two (Greece, Israel, Switzerland, Moldova, Latvia and Luxembourg) and Group Five (Spain, Turkey, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Armenia and Estonia).

FIFA said the draw would be held on January 30 during the UEFA Congress in Zagreb, Croatia.

The other seven European groups have finalised their fixtures with the exception of Group Nine — involving the Netherlands, Scotland, Norway, Macedonia and Iceland — which has been given more time by FIFA to finalise details.

Sudan make their first Nations Cup finals appearance in more than three decades


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s